top of page

Tips and Tricks for When the Flu Bug Hits

The dreaded Flu has struck our house. The husband is sick. The baby and the older kids are sick... we are miserable. As I sit here on the couch with my Kleenex & tea beside me and my laptop on my lap, I figured I would share with you guys what has kept my kids most comfortable during these last few days.

"Vapo-dough":

Add a few drops of eucalyptus, an essential oil that eases congestion, to some type of modeling dough (you can make your own here) – just make sure kids don’t digest or rub their eyes during play time. Wash their hands afterwards!

Homemade heating pad: A wool sock full of uncooked rice, knotted at the top, can be warmed in the microwave for 30 seconds and placed on the back or tummy.

Warm Blankets: Pop the kids' blankets in the dryer for a minute or two and snuggle up!

Stubborn Fever? :

Try rotating between Children's Tylenol and Motrin every four to six hours. For some reason rotating between these two always seems to do the trick with my kiddos.

Sore Throat 'Sicles: We make homemade Popsicles - what kid doesn't love Popsicles?! This is our favorite recipe (here). It is great for soothing a sore throat (or to keep them busy for a few minutes - hint hint).

 

On my Facebook page, I want to know your 'go-to' tricks to help your kid(s) more comfy! Not a friend of mine on Facebook? Find me HERE

[ https://www.facebook.com/BlogWithMomma/ ]

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page