top of page

Keeping Your Sanity (From one Momma to Another)

"If Momma ain't happy, nobody is happy!" How many times have you heard that before? Oh yes, the routine and days of tiredness gets to you. It does to every Momma. But hey, I've got something to tell you... Take a break woman, goodness! The dirty clothes and that mess lying on the floor will still be there waiting for you later on. Don't you worry about that!

In all seriousness though, we run around all day long making sure the house is clean, food is hot & ready, and we end up neglecting ourselves. If we don't feel our best, how can we give our best?! We need to smile, joke around, laugh, be goofy, and relax. We need to keep our sanity and I totally get that!

Make it a priority to set aside a little 'me time' and focus on you for just a little while. Do something that makes you happy; something that makes you smile and laugh. Personally, I make sure Monday nights are all mine. Once the kids are in bed and the husband is snoring in the chair beside me, it's on!

You guys know how much I love sharing my personal favorites - so here's another quick list of my favorite things that make me feel good and gets me to smile...

Get Dolled Up (even if you're not going anywhere!) -- I love decorating my nails and busting out my curling iron. Sometimes you'll find me in the bathroom, styling my hair at 8:00 pm. (Ha!) Try something new (maybe a new shade of nail polish? How about a new hair-do? Never tried a face mask before?) and have fun with it! Go ahead and pamper yourself! I always feel better afterwards!

Get Some Fresh Air (without the phone!)-- Step away from Facebook and the nonstop texts. Breathe in refreshing air and enjoy the outdoors for a little bit. Even 5 minutes of relaxing on your back porch can be peaceful. Personally, I love to walk. My neighborhood has a wonderful walking trail through the woods and I can walk for miles if I had the time. I love looking at the huge, giant Oak trees that line the path and in the Fall, it is breathtaking! Go sit on the kids swing-set for a minute, climb that tree in your backyard, go hiking, lay down a blanket in the grass and stare at the clouds. The possibilities are endless.

Play With Your Pet(s) -- Honestly, you should do this often anyways as it is hugely beneficial to your pet. But going on. I bet Buster over there loves having your attention and it can set you in a better mood too! Spending quality time with your pet, who loves you unconditionally, is pure joy. My two fur-kids love their daily rub downs and going bye-bye's with me. It makes us all happy!

Call A Loved One -- Have you ever answered your phone and was greeted by a familiar voice that you haven't heard in forever? It makes you smile to think about a loved one and it can brighten your day to hear from them. Initiate a conversation - call up your old buddy from high school. If you haven't talked to Gram in a few days, ring her phone and tell her how much you love her! I even call my husband sometimes, even though I see him daily, to tell him how much he means to me. Remember, it's the little things that count!

Be A Bum -- It's totally okay if you want to wear your PJ's all day (I do it frequently). Throw your hair up into a messy bun and grab a bowl of dry cereal. Plop your butt on the couch in front of Netflix and chill. Mom's don't have super powers. We can't keep going and going and still remain sane. Take a break and relax - be a bum! I'm pretty sure your husband can handle the house for just one night!

I could seriously go on and on... but don't worry, I won't! I want to hear about your tips and tricks on how you keep your sanity! Do you have any favorite relaxation techniques? How about any other neat ideas?!

Again, from one Momma to another, I know how parenting goes... but don't let the routine or bad days get to you! Take a break, relax, smile a little bit more, and be sure to laugh your butt off!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page