top of page

A 5 year old's Favorite Books

My five year old is about 3 months into his first year of school! Sure, us parents remember how easy-peasy kindergarten was... but for a little guy, my son was pretty nervous (and so was I).

They expect so much from these youngsters - but the school has really been pushing reading. I totally get why reading is so important so we have 'reading time' right after homework... every night!

My son's bookshelf is full of books (we love hitting up those yard sales!).... Everything from dinosaurs to airplanes. As a beginning reader, it sometimes gets overwhelming so we stick to books that are meant for kids who are just starting out.

These are our most favorite books and we hope you enjoy them just as much!

Pete the Cat - my son just loves Pete the Cat! We have the audio and book set (which I highly recommend! The songs that go with the story are awesome!) and even Dad gets into it! There are several different books to choose from in the Pete the Cat series but our #1 most read is "I Love My White Shoes".

Step into Reading - Grab yourself a bundle pack because your kid is going to love reading these books! With various topics and super easy for the beginning reader, these are another one of my son's favorite! We are on level 1 but they have higher levels (up to level 5 - chapter books) so these books can grow with your kid!

The Day the Crayons Quit - This favorite was written by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers. What kid doesn't love crayons, you know? This story is about crayons who have had enough and said "I QUIT!" ... ugh oh! This one will have your kid's attention the whole way through! My son always wants this one read before bed - he never misses a night!

I want to hear of your favorite books! Come join me on Facebook and share your favorites with the hashtag #MommasFav and be sure to like us while you're there!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page